Mick Easterby Homepage

Hall of Fame

Here we take a trip down memory lane with short biographies and photos of some of the well known horses to race for the yard. Over our long training career some of our horses have taken on the role of flagbearers for the yard and here we keep their memories alive.

We also feature more heroes here.

Name FoaledColourSexSire

Great Rock 1953 b g Black Rock
First winner!

Steal A March 1957 br g Rock Star
First horse at yard to run 50 races

Mighty Faustus 1963 b c Tamerlane
First York winner, May 1965

Grey Steel 1963 b c Como

Pal's Passage 1964 gr c Palestine
First classic runner, 2000 Guineas 1967

Boismoss 1964 b h Mossborough
Cesarewitch winner, 1967

Goldwyn 1967 b m Goldhill
Won seven times in succession in 1969

Windstorm 1968 b f Whistling Wind
Robert B Massey 2yo Trophy winner 1970

Red Rodney 1968 ch g Matador
Nine times winning sprinter

Sheriff Hutton 1968 b g Queen's Hussar
Multiple winner from the early 1970s

Golden Mallard 1968 br h Goldhill
Multiple winner, stallion at Norton Grove Stud

Dutch Gold 1969 b m Goldhill
Twelve times winning filly

Workboy 1969 br h Firestreak
Six times winner and Group 1 placed

Burwell 1971 b c Shooting Chant
Champion 2 Year Old Trophy winner Ripon, 1973

Wheatclose 1971 b g Highland Melody
Won five flat races in a row, 1974/5

Polly Peachum 1971 b m Singing Strand
Favourite winning sprinter

Fretta 1972 b f Goldhill
Hilary Needler Trophy winner, 1974

Lazenby 1972 b c Bleep Bleep
Gosforth Park Cup winner 1976

Lochnager 1972 b g Dumbarnie
Champion Sprinter 1976

Peterhof 1972 ch g Royal Palace
Triumph Hurdle winner 1976

Dutch May 1972 b m Maystreak
Six times winner in 1975 season

Sweet Nightingale 1973 br f Swing Easy
Seaton Delaval Stakes winner (Group 3) 1975

Partridge Brook 1973 b f Birdbrook
Won five and runner up six times at two

Pennina 1973 b f Great Nephew
Five times winning juvenile

Scattered Scarlet 1973 b c Hotfoot
Five consecutive juvenile wins

Whenby 1974 b g Prevailing
Gosforth Park Cup winner 1978

Urser 1974 b g Ragusa
Twelve times winner over jumps

Mrs McArdy 1974 b m Tribal Chief
1000 Guineas winner, 1977

Jon George 1974 gr h Comedy Star
Ayr Gold Cup and Portland winner 1977

Tudor Jig 1974 ch h Tudor Melody
Northern Free Handicap winner 1977

Happy Worker 1975 b g Workboy
Flat and hurdles winner

Skewsby 1976 b g Andrea Mantegna
Multiple winner on the flat and over jumps

Walter Osborne (IRE) 1977 ch c Welsh Pageant
Multiple winner at York

Mr Snugfit 1977 b g Jukebox
Twice placed in the Grand National

B and K Emperor (IRE) 1977 gr g Young Emperor
Nine times winner hurdler and steeplechaser

Mel's Choice 1978 b g Birdbrook
Three wins from six starts in 1982

Lucky Dutch 1979 b g Lucky Wednesday
Great St Wilfrid Handicap winner 1984

Grey Desire 1980 gr c Habat

Chapel Cottage 1981 b f Homing
Cherry Hinton Stakes winner 1983

Tresidder 1982 b g Connaught
A 21 times winner on the flat and over jumps

Descartes 1982 gr g Imperial Fling

Peckitt's Well 1982 b m Lochnager

Merano (FR) 1983 b g Iris Noir

Catherine's Well 1983 ch m Junius (USA)
Great St Wilfrid Handicap winner, Ripon 1986

Yaheeb (USA) 1983 b h Alleged
Multiple winner, stallion at Norton Grove Stud

Master Pokey 1984 br g Uncle Pokey
Ten times winning sprinter

Wiganthorpe (IRE) 1984 ch h Thatching
Gimcrack Stakes winner, York 1986

Macarthur I 1985 b g Ardross
Ten times winning jumper

Golden Flats 1985 br m Sonnen Gold

Silver Stick 1987 gr g Absalom
Grand Military Gold Cup winner 1998

Penny Hasset 1988 b m Lochnager
Nine times winning sprinter

Hasta La Vista 1990 b g Superlative
Seventeen times winner

Minster Glory 1991 b g Minster Son
Sixteen times winner

Flat Top 1991 b g Blakeney
Multiple winning hurdler and steeplechaser

Lady Sheriff 1991 b m Taufan
Glorious Goodwood winner, 1997

Banker Count 1992 b g Lord Bud

Foist 1992 b g Efisio
Eight times winner

Blessingindisguise 1993 b g Kala Shikari
Eleven times winning sprinter

Westcourt Magic 1993 b g Emarati
Eleven times winning sprinter

Dee Pee Tee Cee (IRE) 1994 b g Tidaro
Thirteen times winner

Jedi Knight 1994 b g Emarati
Seven times winner

William's Well 1994 ch g Superpower
Great St Wilfrid Handicap winner, 2000

Noshinannikin 1994 ch g Anshan
Seven times National Hunt winner

Flower O'Cannie (IRE) 1995 b m Mujadil
Queen Mother's Cup winner, 1999

Nowell House 1996 ch g Polar Falcon
Twelve times winner

The Nomad 1996 b g Nomadic Way
Seven times National Hunt winner

Sporting Gesture 1997 b g Safawan
Fourteen times winner

Middlethorpe 1997 b g Noble Patriarch
Six wins on the flat and six wins over hurdles

Silver Socks 1997 gr g Petong
Won five races in a month, February 2001

Trouble Mountain (USA) 1997 br g Mt Livermore
Multiple winner over middle distances

Blue Spinnaker (IRE) 1999 b g Bluebird
Thirsk Hunt Cup and Zetland Gold Cup winner

Gala Sunday (USA) 2000 b g Lear Fan
Won six Ladies Amateur Riders Handicaps

Gentleman's Deal (IRE) 2001 b h Danehill
Group 3 Winter Derby winner

Atlantic Story (USA) 2002 br g Stormy Atlantic
Thirteen times winner

Bow Bridge 2003 br m Bertolini
Listed winning filly and successful broodmare

Ancient Cross 2004 b g Machiavellian
Ayr Silver Cup and Gosforth Park Cup winner

Desert Vision 2004 b g Alhaarth
Nine times winner

Lightening Rod 2005 b g Storming Home
Multiple winning hurdler and steeplechaser

Itlaaq 2006 b g Alhaarth

Day Of The Eagle (IRE) 2006 b g Danehill Dancer
An eight times winner

Shadows Lengthen 2006 b g Dansili
Thirteen times winner

Kalk Bay (IRE) 2007 b g Hawk Wing

Space War 2007 b g Elusive City
Ten times winner for the yard

Hoof It 2007 b g Monsieur Bond
Stewards Cup winner 2011

Hernando Torres 2008 b g Iffraaj
Seven times winner and yard favourite

Pivotman 2008 ch g Pivotal
Multiple winner and yard favourite

Black Annis Bower 2008 gr m Proclamation

Magic City (IRE) 2009 b g Elusive City

Perfect Pasture 2010 b g Pastoral Pursuits
Multiple winning home bred sprinter

Hoofalong 2010 b g Pastoral Pursuits
William Hill Scottish Sprint Cup winner 2016

Aetna 2010 b m Indesatchel
Listed winning sprinter

Qaffaal (USA) 2011 b g Street Cry
Eight times winning yard favourite

Holiday Magic (IRE) 2011 gr g Dark Angel
Yard favourite and multiple all weather winner

Bowson Fred 2012 b g Monsieur Bond

Arrowtown 2012 b m Rail Link

Carlton Frankie 2014 b f Equiano

Ladies First 2014 b m Monsieur Bond

New House Farm, Sheriff Hutton, York, North Yorkshire, UK, YO60 6TN Tel: 01347 878368

Horses in Training Staff Facilities News Contact Mick Easterby
Yearlings Jockeys Bloodstock Features How to find us
Foals Vacancies Training a Racehorse
Staff News   VIDEO OTHER
RACING Horsing Around OWNERSHIP Video Channel Galleries
Runners & Entries Buying a Racehorse Racing Links
Recent Winners SALES Racehorse Ownership SOCIAL MEDIA Racehorse Art
Racing Colours Horses for Sale   Facebook Fun & Activities
BHA Ratings Rehoming   Twitter Mick Easterby's Tales

Website © 1997 - 2020 Michael Easterby Racing. All rights reserved.

Website programmed in Coldfusion ™ and maintained and updated by Tara's Art.