Mick Easterby Homepage

Hall of Fame

Here we take a trip down memory lane with short biographies and photos of some of the well known horses to race for the yard. Over our long training career some of our horses have taken on the role of flagbearers for the yard and here we keep their memories alive.

You can sort the horses by date here.

We also feature more heroes here.


Great Rock 1953 b g Black Rock
First winner!

Boismoss 1964 b h Mossborough
Cesarewitch winner, 1967

Goldwyn 1967 b m Goldhill
Won seven times in succession in 1969

Sheriff Hutton 1968 b g Queen's Hussar
Multiple winner from the early 1970s

Red Rodney 1968 ch g Matador
Nine times winning sprinter

Windstorm 1968 b f Whistling Wind
Robert B Massey 2yo Trophy winner 1970

Workboy 1969 br h Firestreak
Six times winner and Group 1 placed

Dutch Gold 1969 b m Goldhill
Twelve times winning filly

Polly Peachum 1971 b m Singing Strand
Favourite winning sprinter

Wheatclose 1971 b g Highland Melody
Won five flat races in a row, 1974/5

Burwell 1971 b c Shooting Chant
Champion 2 Year Old Trophy winner Ripon, 1973

Dutch May 1972 b m Maystreak
Six times winner in 1975 season

Lazenby 1972 b c Bleep Bleep
Gosforth Park Cup winner 1976

Lochnager 1972 b g Dumbarnie
Champion Sprinter 1976

Fretta 1972 b f Goldhill
Hilary Needler Trophy winner, 1974

Peterhof 1972 ch g Royal Palace
Triumph Hurdle winner 1976

Partridge Brook 1973 b f Birdbrook
Won five and runner up six times at two

Pennina 1973 b f Great Nephew
Five times winning juvenile

Sweet Nightingale 1973 br f Swing Easy
Seaton Delaval Stakes winner (Group 3) 1975

Scattered Scarlet 1973 b c Hotfoot
Five consecutive juvenile wins

Jon George 1974 gr h Comedy Star
Ayr Gold Cup and Portland winner 1977

Mrs McArdy 1974 b m Tribal Chief
1000 Guineas winner, 1977

Whenby 1974 b g Prevailing
Gosforth Park Cup winner 1978

Tudor Jig 1974 ch h Tudor Melody
Northern Free Handicap winner 1977

Happy Worker 1975 b g Workboy
Flat and hurdles winner

Skewsby 1976 b g Andrea Mantegna
Multiple winner on the flat and over jumps

B and K Emperor (IRE) 1977 gr g Young Emperor
Nine times winner hurdler and steeplechaser

Walter Osborne (IRE) 1977 ch c Welsh Pageant
Multiple winner at York

Mr Snugfit 1977 b g Jukebox
Twice placed in the Grand National

Grey Desire 1980 gr c Habat

Mel's Choice 1980 b g Birdbrook
Three wins from six starts in 1982

Chapel Cottage 1981 b f Homing
Cherry Hinton Stakes winner 1983

Tresidder 1982 b g Connaught
A 21 times winner on the flat and over jumps

Catherine's Well 1983 ch m Junius (USA)
Great St Wilfrid Handicap winner, Ripon 1986

Master Pokey 1984 br g Uncle Pokey
Ten times winning sprinter

Wiganthorpe (IRE) 1984 ch h Thatching
Gimcrack Stakes winner, York 1986

Sunday Sport Boy 1985 ch g Moorestyle

Silver Stick 1987 gr g Absalom
Grand Military Gold Cup winner 1998

Penny Hasset 1988 b m Lochnager
Nine times winning sprinter

Hasta La Vista 1990 b g Superlative
Seventeen times winner

Flat Top 1991 b g Blakeney
Multiple winning hurdler and steeplechaser

Minster Glory 1991 b g Minster Son
Sixteen times winner

Lady Sheriff 1991 b m Taufan
Glorious Goodwood winner, 1997

Foist 1992 b g Efisio
Eight times winner

Blessingindisguise 1993 b g Kala Shikari
Eleven times winning sprinter

Westcourt Magic 1993 b g Emarati
Eleven times winning sprinter

William's Well 1994 ch g Superpower
Great St Wilfrid Handicap winner, 2000

Dee Pee Tee Cee (IRE) 1994 b g Tidaro
Thirteen times winner

Jedi Knight 1994 b g Emarati
Seven times winner

Flower O'Cannie (IRE) 1995 b m Mujadil
Queen Mother's Cup winner, 1999

Nowell House 1996 ch g Polar Falcon
Twelve times winner

Sporting Gesture 1997 b g Safawan
Fourteen times winner

Middlethorpe 1997 b g Noble Patriarch
Six wins on the flat and six wins over hurdles

Silver Socks 1997 gr g Petong
Won five races in a month, February 2001

Trouble Mountain (USA) 1997 br g Mt Livermore
Multiple winner over middle distances

Blue Spinnaker (IRE) 1999 b g Bluebird
Thirsk Hunt Cup and Zetland Gold Cup winner

Gentleman's Deal (IRE) 2001 b h Danehill
Group 3 Winter Derby winner

Desert Vision 2004 b g Alhaarth
Nine times winner

Ancient Cross 2004 b g Machiavellian
Ayr Silver Cup and Gosforth Park Cup winner

Lightening Rod 2005 b g Storming Home
Multiple winning hurdler and steeplechaser

Day Of The Eagle (IRE) 2006 b g Danehill Dancer
An eight times winner

Shadows Lengthen 2006 b g Dansili
Thirteen times winner

Hoof It 2007 b g Monsieur Bond
Stewards Cup winner 2011

Pivotman 2008 ch g Pivotal
Multiple winner and yard favourite

Michael Easterby
New House Farm
Sheriff Hutton
UK, YO60 6TN

Tel: 01347 878368

Horses in Training Staff Facilities News Contact Mick Easterby
Horses for Sale Jockeys Bloodstock Features How to find us
Runners Vacancies Training a Racehorse
Legends Staff News   VIDEO OTHER
Yesterday's Heroes Daily Routine OWNERSHIP Race Video Galleries
Retired Racehorses Horsing Around Buying a Racehorse Training Video Racing Links
Results   Racehorse Ownership Racehorse Art
Racing Colours      

Website © 1997 - 2019 Michael Easterby Racing. All rights reserved.

Website programmed in Coldfusion ™ and maintained and updated by Tara's Art.